A Sacred Place
On Sundays in 1730, in the Little Fork of the Hazel and Rappahannock rivers, people started gathering together for worship and fellowship. It was called a Chapel of Ease. A quiet place to rest, reflect, and recharge. To communicate and commune. Members of the Little Fork congregation were members of the Culpeper Minute Men who heeded Patrick Henry's call to arms in 1775.
A rema…Read More »
All are welcomed to be put to rest on the Burying Ground at Little Fork. Our open door policy meets families where they need to be. The greatest gift we can offer is access to a beautiful and sacred place where loved ones can be buried and families can visit, sit under the cherry trees and feel at peace.
The Burying Ground is located next to the church, complemented by beautiful …Read More »
The 1776 LITTLE FORK PRESERVATION FOUNDATION, INC. is registered 501(c) 3 not-for-profit organization that raises funds to be used solely for the perpetual maintenance of the historic Church and grounds.
"The feelings of continuity, memory and identity from old places gives us a sense of who we are. A deep sense of belonging." Thompson M. Mayes
WHY OLD PLACES MATTER
Shortly…Read More »
Our congregation is discerning how we are called to develop our church resources, especially our 16-acre property to serve as a place where people find respite for their souls, hope for their journeys, and peace.
The master plan is the first significant step in this process. The Master Plan Working Group is working with Julie Basic PLA, a landscape architect who has significant experience working with historic properties.Read More »